The BJP’s choice Droupadi Murmu becomes India’s first tribal woman President

After several rounds of voting, India is ready to announce its Presidential Election Results. The electoral college will select the next president of the country. This body includes MPs from both Houses of Parliament and MLAs from states. In addition, the BJP and its allies have nominated members of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. The BJP’s choice of Droupadi Murmu won the support of all non-aligned parties, including the Dalit community.

On the other hand, the Odisha Chief Minister has congratulated Droupadi Murmu on her victory as the 15th President of India. Murmu, who belongs to the tribal community of Odisha, has been active in the public welfare in the tribal areas. Her rise to the highest constitutional post is an inspiring story of women’s empowerment. Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik congratulated Murmu on her election as the 15th President of India and wished her a fulfilling tenure.

The count of votes will start on Thursday at the Parliament House. The election was a foregone conclusion with the rise of the BJP. Historically, Presidential elections have been non-competitive, though the last time two candidates competed for the position, the ruling INC split over which candidate to nominate. In 1969, the two candidates narrowly defeated each other. And, unlike today, the election was not free of controversy and corruption.

The counting of the MP votes is the first step towards the announcement of the final presidential election results. The winner will then meet Election Commission officials and receive the election certificate. This is a process that begins on July 18 and continues for about one and a half to two hours. And if the NDA candidate wins, she will be the first tribal woman to hold a top constitutional post in India. If she wins, she will be India’s 15th President and she will be the first person from the tribal community to occupy the post.

During the polling process, ballot boxes from every state have reached Parliament House. Poll officials are waiting to start counting in room 63. PC Mody, the chief returning officer, will be overseeing the count. The NDA candidate Droupadi Murmu has 540 votes while the Opposition’s Yashwant Sinha received 208 votes. While the counting process is taking place, the election results are expected to be declared early this evening.

Droupadi Murmu, the BJP’s candidate, has crossed the 50% threshold and received the certification of PC Mody, the Returning Officer of the Indian Presidential Election 2022. Yashwant Sinha, the other party candidate, did not receive any votes from three states. After counting all the votes, Sinha will receive a certificate. The announcement of the election results will be made soon after all the states have declared the results.

The counting of votes for India’s 15th President will begin in Room 63 of Parliament House. A majority of the MLAs and MPs voted in the presidential election. The incumbent President Ram Nath Kovind’s term will end on July 24. The new President Droupadi Murmu will be a popular choice, but she will face a tough battle with the joint Opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha.

Leave a Comment